[SpeedGrader] Replace tiny asterisk with "DRAFT" for draft comments in SpeedGrader

I'm an Instructional Designer who supports faculty using Canvas. In SpeedGrader, when an instructor enters a general comment but doesn't submit it, then navigates to a different student, the comment's text is auto-saved as a draft. When the instructor returns to the first student's submission, this draft status is indicated by a tiny red asterisk to the left of the comment. This is confusing, since it doesn't say "Draft" anywhere. This is also an accessibility issue, since users with color blindness or users with any level of visual impairment may not be able to see the tiny red asterisk. I propose replacing the asterisk with the bold word "DRAFT," which is clearer, more accessible, and more inclusive.

It would also be helpful to clarify that the grey "Submit" button is specific to the draft comment and works differently than the blue Submit button, which submits both comments and grades.

Screenshot of the asterisk to the left of a draft comment:

canvas-speedgrader-draft-comment-asterisk.png

Mock-up of proposed replacement:

canvas-speedgrader-draft-proposed.png

17 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Open

jasonk8
Community Member

In courses with multiple instructors, feedback comments in Speedgrader can be saved without being submitted and the mark indicating this is too small to notice leading instructors to think that feedback is visible to students. On the student side, students will be unaware that feedback even exists, due to the instructor belief that feedback is visible from Speedgrader, resulting in missed feedback.