Reply to text (SMS) message notifications for Conversations

I would like to be able to reply directly to text (SMS) message notifications for Conversations without having to go into the Canvas App. This would allow for easier back-and-forth communication.

The SMS app I use for Android gives the false impression that I am able to do so. That is, it allows me to click reply to a Canvas notification for a Conversation and send a response. But, of course, the other party never receives my response. 

18 Comments
KristinL
Community Team
Community Team

Hi  @eduplessis ‌ -

Thanks for submitting an idea to Canvas Studio‌. Could you tell me more about your preference to receive SMS notifications rather than push notifications on your Android device? As an instructor, I use push notifications exclusively, and I have never subscribed to text messages as means to getting content/questions/etc in my courses. I personally like that the notifications bring me into the app and that the context of the inquiry or comment is readily available. Now with Canvas Teacher (available in the Google Play store!), I suspect that the experience for instructors will only improve from what it has been with the Canvas by Instructure app.

I am not a programmer, so I don't know the time that would be required to link SMS to Canvas Conversations Inbox. However, maybe another way to approach this Feature Idea would be to clarify the actions of "replying" to an SMS message for Android users.

For now, this idea will be marked as "moderating" so The Canvas Community can better understand the need for the idea. Perhaps there are some https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/cmug?sr=search&searchId=9236a4a5-0508-4514-a665-03a5bee16302&...‌ that could chime in too. Smiley Happy

eduplessis
Community Novice

Hi  @KristinL ‌ -

Thanks for your thoughts! In short, I'd like fewer taps to get to the full conversation message. It takes 4 taps:

1. tap on the push notification to see the full SMS content