Resume Quiz From Previous Attempt Option

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an Instructor, I would like to allow students to resume a quiz where they left off after it as been submitted when giving them another attempt. How it currently works is that they need to be given another attempt and start over. If an instructor could choose to let them resume their previous submission from the moderate page, it would save time for the student on long quizzes. Also, it would be nice to have an option to lock previous answers; that way they cannot correct previous mistakes.

As a student, I would like to be able to resume a quiz where I left off if my instructor permits. If I got most the way done with a 100 question quiz then have some technical difficulties, it would be a time save to not have to re-take the entire exam.

Comments from Instructure

For more information, please read through the https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-16291-canvas-release-notes-2019-02-16?origin_team=T028ZAGUD .

61 Comments
rislis
Community Champion

This is cumbersome, but with practice and patience, it could work. Teachers comment on the original quiz with the numbers that are allowed to be retaken. The quiz is edited to offer a 2nd attempt and the student opens the gradebook to see what questions he/she can retake. The teacher then looks at the 2nd attempt in the Speedgrader, adjusting the score of the 1st attempt if any retakes are correct. 

Maybe too tedious and cumbersome? What do you think?

Here's the video I shared with the teacher: Canvas Quiz Corrections/Retakes for additional points.

julieddavis
Community Novice