Show Display Name in SpeedGrader

0 Likes
(2)

Hello! Is it possible to allow students to put their preferred first name after their enrolled name somewhere in Canvas? And could it show in the speedgrader? Notes under grades are great, but they don't show in speedgrader. I have many students who use other than their enrolled name, and many with the same name. For example, I have 5 Catherine/kathryns in my courses this semester; some go by their given name, but others go by Katie, Kat, Kathy. It is hard to remember, and I want to personalize feedback as much as possible. Thanks!

6 Comments
ctitmus
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Open

kseaman
Community Explorer

I am an admin in Canvas. Our institution pulls our information for users from our SIS; however, some students have preferred names that they would like to go by. While we do pull a preferred name (also from our SIS) that gets filtered into the "display name" in Canvas, it would be great if there was a setting in the account area for users to check to have their "display name" show everywhere, including in external tools, assignments, attendance, people, etc. This way, there is one name that is displayed all across Canvas and its tools.

kfalcone
Community Member

I came here to ask the same thing!!  What I have noticed is that my students are changing their display name to the name they prefer, but when I am grading discussions in speedgrader I can only see their official name and don't see their display name.  So, when I am personalizing comments, I am still using their official name.  It would be very helpful if their display name was shown somewhere on the speedgrader page so I respect the name they wish to be called.  I would guess from the students' experience it may be perceived that although they changes their name in Canvas, I am still choosing to use their official name.

Is there anyway for speedgrader to include the students' display name?