[Speedgrader] Stop filtering the SpeedGrader based on filtering the Grades tool by section

Recently I learned that filtering the display in the Grades tool by section also applies the same section filter in the SpeedGrader. This is not intuitive at all and makes for a bad user experience. There is no indication or explanation that this is happening in the Canvas UI. It is only mentioned briefly in a user guide. As we all know, you can’t put important user experience information solely in a guide because users don’t read guides to learn how to use software. Instead, the user experience needs to be intuitive or at least explained directly in the UI where the work is happening. How do I know it’s not intuitive? I have been using Canvas for many years and never would have guessed this was happening. Not even the Instructure Support agent I contacted knew about this.

Why is this a bad user experience? If there is a multi-section course, this filtering will mean some of the student submissions will not show up in the SpeedGrader. There is no explanation why. It is even worse if the assignment is restricted to a section other than the section selected in the Grades filter, since no student submissions will display and the filtering option doesn’t even show up in the SpeedGrader to give the grader a clue what is wrong and a way to fix it.

It makes absolutely no sense to apply the Grades filtering to SpeedGrader and has no benefit, only confusion.

14 Comments
rmurchshafer
Community Champion

@cdoherty 

Like you I am a long time Canvas user (2010).  And I also would not have expected the section filtering from Grades to also carry over to Speedgrader (and they follow the other way too from Speedgrader to Grades).  Having said that, I really like the feature and now I'm wondering how long it has been around.