Student PDF Annotations on Web Browser Version

Recently, a new feature was added to the Canvas App, which allows students to "mark-up" PDFs directly in Canvas and submit them. This is amazing! However, it s only a feature on the App, and not in the normal web browser version for students with Laptops or Desktops. This is a great feature that Canvas has, and I just wish the students at our school (who all have district-provided laptops) could do it too!

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-05-15).

87 Comments
rael225
Community Member

Yes, Please! As a teacher, I can't afford my own mobile device. All my classrooms have a desktop at the teacher station, not a mobile device. I don't understand why mobile was made a priority here.

kmeeusen
Community Champion

Hi  @rael225 ‌

The focus on mobile with Canvas, and with almost all things online in higher ed is almost entirely student driven. Students want to use the devices they have, and those devices are mobile - mostly their phones, and often a tablet. Many schools now have 1:1 mobile initiatives whereby their students are provided with a tablet of one make or another.

Many educators did not foresee the mobile IT revolution; and of those who did, even fewer appreciated how fast this revolution would grow and develop.

Our college has an older and poorer student demographic, and few of our students have a desktop or even laptop computer, but all of them have a smart phone, and they all want to be able to use that device for their online courses.

Kelley

rael225
Community Member

That totally makes sense, Kelley. Thanks for the explanation!

MattHanes
Community Champion

As we look to go 1:1 with Chromebooks, I would love to see the ability to annotate PDFs built-in for students. On PCs and laptops they can annotate on a pdf using Adobe Reader but there doesn't appear to be any free options on Chromebooks.

GideonWilliams