Student view: View submissions and comments for all submissions

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Right now students can only view their most recently added submission to an assignment. This means that all previous submissions to the assignment are not available to students, including feedback that the instructors have provided. This is a big problem because students are losing critical information that could help promote learning and understanding.We need to eliminate this lossylearning problem and make all assignment submissions visible to students!
193 Comments
caradansie
Community Member

I am a teacher and also a parent so I can see both sides when DocViewer is used to leave feedback.

It would be nice to have a way for students to view their submission history so that they are able to see annotations made in DocViewer for ANY and ALL of their submissions. As it is now, as soon as they resubmit any assignment, the comments on the previous submission are no longer available so the teacher needs to then re-annotate and give feedback again. This makes it almost useless for a teacher to even use DocViewer to leave feedback because it is gone the minute the student resubmits the assignment.

mhollowell
Community Explorer