Submission confirmation

0 Likes
(2)

ease remove the message "Successfully submitted" from views like this. In fact, the item was NOT successfully submitted and students are frequently misled!  Consider another method for students to actually confirm their work was submitted in the App. Or perhaps instead display the message "submission pending."

Teachers have a hard time explaining this message since it conflicts with the "not submitted" status at the top of the screen.

IMG_4791.png

17 Comments
CanvasDocTeam
Community Team
Community Team
Status changed to: Open

JulieannPina
Community Novice

I am a parent of a student who is affected by this problem. We suggest that there would be an email sent to the student when an assignment is successfully submitted. That could be a short term fix while something more holistic is developed.

As a parent, I would also like to see a dashboard with a list of all successful submissions in the last X days. Ideally, this could even include all classes together, but if not then at least class by class. Having to dive multiple clicks into each assignment adds so much time to the process of tracking.

SteveStowers
Community Member

Can someone please explain what's going on in the screen shot posted here? Why does it say "Not Submitted" at the top but "Successfully Submitted" at the bottom? I just had a student show me something like this, and I don't know what's going on.

dcodea
Community Member

I am having this issue. Students are claiming they submitted assignments, showing this screenshot as confirmation, and I have no idea how to interpret it.  We don't see any submission in the the speed grader but they swear they uploaded a submission and present this screenshot as proof. I have no idea what it means or why it says "successfully submitted," so I have no idea how to answer these students or confirm what did or did not happen. It is extremely frustrating and is happening in every course I teach right now.

dcodea