[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
lauren_sayer
Community Contributor

If we wanted to use Canvas for exam moderation we would have to scan and upload the exams ourselves – a student wouldn’t be in a position to do this. I’m not sure if we would want to go down that route as a school but it might be something we want to investigate as it could help moderate across campuses.

Community Novice

Yes! Definitely want this one. I have a few students who don't have internet at home so give me a printed copy of an assignment or a handwritten one. I need to scan and upload this into Canvas and then comment on it using SpeedGrader for them to access at school.

nstrecker1
Community Novice

Well, everyone agrees this would be a wonderful feature for many incredibly valid reasons. It's supported by 204 of 215 voters.  And it's been under consideration now for more almost two years- what else can users do to see this need answered in the next release?

thompsli
Community Champion