[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
thompsli
Community Champion

I use the "upload a pdf in the comments" method now when I need to upload scans of the graded versions of paper tests to a Canvas assignment, and here are some more drawbacks:

• Students can't see those pdfs without downloading them (no pdf viewer as there is for student-submitted assignments) - this is my biggest complaint
  • Not recorded as a submission in Canvas when it's considering whether or not something is "missing" in new gradebook or other stats
  • Not, to my knowledge, included if you download all student submissions to grade offline (I don't use this feature in general, and it doesn't matter for my use case for uploading scans in particular, but I could see it being a major issue for someone else)
jennifer_harri2
Community Member

I do like a hard deadline, but there are always cases, sometimes having to do with differing abilities, where it would be much easier (after the deadline) to get a submission from a student and upload it directly.

tobe_baeyens
Community Contributor