[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
Steven_S
Community Champion

That's good to know.  When I tested with the test student I did not see the attachments.  Even so, I would like to have access to those attachments in my own view of the gradebook.

hardinm
Community Contributor

Please please please. My students are younger and often make mistakes, and no matter what I do, they often submit to the wrong assignment. With students for whom just getting them to turn in something is a challenge, it is frustrating to then have to turn around and be "well actually you turned it in, but to the wrong inbox." It would be nice to just be able to do it myself.

josh_langston
Community Explorer

Yeah...I still can't believe this hasn't happened yet.  There is a wide swath of teachers that the lack of this feature is enough to use a platform other than Canvas.

evelyn_kyrk
Community Novice

Yes please, i could do this in the old system the school had and it was a big help.

aroyal9
Community Participant