[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
steve_undy
Community Novice

Thanks Linnea. Unfortunately, I've already scanned in their exams (prior to grading). I don't want to scan in again, so I will mark them up with Acrobat. The next step will be to get them back to them. I'll see if I can do what you suggested.

thompsli
Community Champion

Yeah, if you've already scanned them in that's probably your best option.

On a side note, if you have the scanned exams for the entire class as one file in Acrobat, the best way I've found to break that into individual files for uploading (so students don't see the tests for other students) is to bookmark the first page of each student's test in Acrobat and then have Acrobat split the file by bookmark, using the bookmark names as the file names.