[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
jarrodschindler
Community Member

This a great idea! I would definitely love to be able to do this as I have to capture a lot of video and audio for my music students as part of our continuous assessment regime.

jenny_shirley
Community Member

This feature would really help with using Canvas for young students, like Kindergarten.

jl14320
Community Member

Yes, yes, yes!!!!!!  It would be so much easier if I could just pop their emailed assignment in myself rather than trying to contact the student, walk them through how to submit it themselves, and then wait to see if they did it right.  (We are 100% online right now so getting a hold of students isn't easy because I can't sit down with them in class and help them do it)>  

may027
Community Participant