[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
mallison1
Community Novice

this would be great to deal with students who forget to submit quizzes that would allow a much cleaner grading scheme as I have a large number of quizzes that only have items to be submitted "on paper" and I use the quiz to organize the grading and student feedback.  Please add this feature.

mark-f
Community Explorer

The assignment/quiz features for submission are really quite intuitive and I generally like the whole set-up. Nevertheless, in a large class (especially when it comes to exams/quizzes), there is inevitably one or two students who have troubles uploading the document into the grading area. I then advise them to send me an email message with the file as an attachment.