[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
DavidRice
Community Novice

I vote for having this feature. I agree totally with the description. Also, this feature has been around on Blackboard (eLearning) for awhile.

RebekahSmith
Community Member

This should have already been developed as a feature by now, but I hope commenting on this helps highlight the need for this. 

peter_concannon
Community Participant

So, people have been begging for this obvious feature (that other LMSs have always had) for six years, and still no action.  This isn't just some "wouldn't it be nice" gadget. I literally have this issue every single semester, multiple times. Right now, a student is not seeing a submit button, perhaps because the interface with Turnitin seems to be getting screwy, and I am having to go back and forth in email with him on a Saturday night with finals looming just because I can't take the darn file and throw it in there myself.

NateCannon
Community Novice

+1 for this. Kind of shocked that this still isn't implemented. Seems like low-hanging fruit.

Kiddi
Community Member