[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
svonderbruegge
Community Explorer

Please Canvas, post rationale for not including this feature. People are very frustrated to see how long this request has been out there.

I'm of the mindset that most times there are good reasons for things. Would you please let us know what they are?

bengalbus
Community Member

+1 Please add this

peter_concannon
Community Participant

This idea, despite the clamor and demonstrable need, appears to have tumbled through a vortex into an alternate Canvas dimension, where the other-dimensional Canvas creators saw this in 2015, slapped their foreheads, exclaimed, "How obvious!  Of course it should work this way!," and immediately incorporated the changes.

MargaretPurnell
Community Explorer

How is this not already a possibility? I would definitely like to be able to submit things for my students on occasion. 

Maborn
Community Novice