[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
jamin_hoffman
Community Explorer

I second (or third - or 322nd!) the 16 pages of comments on this topic made by professional educators over the years, many (including me) more than once.

If Instructure is not going to implement this feature, they should explain why.  I think it's a perfectly reasonable request, especially in light of what has happened since COVID.

We need a response on this, please!

HectorBarrio
Community Member

Adding to the request, in this case, paper-based exams that are stored as assignment images on Canvas, some students are unable to upload it: I have to scan them, send the images to students and have them uploaded into Canvas. I could do it in minutes.

AlexBarlow
Community Member

Why is this not a thing?  This would be useful for e.g. uploading scans of exam scripts or transferring in files that are collated by the educator.

thomas_walker1
Community Explorer

I already added my request to this a while ago, but wanted to add extra info.

1. We can already batch-download but no upload
  2. We're not asking for batch uploads