[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
wbaranger
Community Member

Thank you for taking this on!

I'm afraid I'm the troublemaker who took this to the corporate boardroom of Instructure and the IT moguls at California State University last week. I have several students whose university experience will greatly improve once this project hits Canvas.

I appreciate that this means shifting a few other deserving projects, but (to me, at least) this is a front-line issue, affecting the ability of some of my students to fully take advantage of Canvas while they are here at Cal State Fullerton. It will also improve my own ability to fully use Canvas's features in a secure way for every student.

I hope that the result is functionality that Instructure can also use to advantage when you are courting prospective customers.

Again, many thanks!

--- Walt

thomas_walker1
Community Explorer

Thank you both!

As wbaranger mentioned, this is actually an educational equity issue for a number of students:

• Students with federally protected Individualized Education Program (sometimes referred to as Individualized Education Plans or IEPs),