[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
TresBien
Community Member

Teacher to submit assignment on a student's behalf (scan of their work) for grading using speed grader.

I need the feature of being able to submit an assignment on a student's behalf. Several pieces come to me in emails or are handed in on paper and I scan them. I want to be able to use the speed grader for these, just like I use it for work that has been submitted in the standard way. 

SamP
Community Explorer

This request comes in quick frequently from teachers within our network of schools.  Would love to see this idea get traction and implemented.  

BobSturmey
Community Explorer

This would be a huge asset for what we do in WBL. Having a digital LMS and dealing with people who sometimes don't engage with the technology side of their apprenticeships is a huge hurdle. If our trainers could take pictures of the work they prefer in booklet form and upload it that would save so much time, and also keep moderation digital so win-win.

Please implement this, i won't ask for anything else for the rest of the year i swear

mfbutner
Community Explorer