[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
MichelleKGross
Community Member

The comment previous to mine links to a thread in which the development team pledges to add and test the proposed feature. User-centered design starts with observing how potential clients do their job, along with interviews about users' perceptions of how they do their work. I see that one user has been hacking Canvas code in order to customize it to what he needs. 

https://github.com/cmcasey79/canvas-customizations-by-chris/commit/b3fcd2deb06f85fdc524b325fbe6fae8e...

It might help future LMS designers for individual instructors to upload a video of ourselves at work with course design, including grading. For example, teachers suspend a timed assignment when there is a fire drill. I wonder if anyone else frequently goes into the raw html to re-format the text display.  Observational fieldwork is the heart of resilient design. Without that step--as mentioned by the development team--there are delays caused by testing how the proposed feature will impact the rest of the code.

MichelleKGross
Community Member