[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
SethBattis
Community Contributor

…or when some knucklehead emails me their paper as an attachment and I just want to get it graded and done, rather than get all pedantic about how it was "supposed" to be submitted.

A great implementation of this would be to be able to drag a new submission on to the SpeedGrader to upload it, btw.

mrobertson
Community Novice

This is a great idea.

We've had a number of instructors ask us why they are unable to upload on behalf of a student like they could in that "other system" we used to use.

nbrown2
Community Member

This would be great for an instructor to be able to run a paper through Turnitin so the student could see the report, as opposed to using the "Test Student" account.

James_Kocher_UF
Community Champion

Maybe we should have a feature request for a sub-setting of student as "knucklehead"  Smiley Happy

sruggenberg
Community Novice