[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
VickiZ
Community Member

Adding my support to this. We often have students who submit by email for whatever reason I'd like to just submit on their behalf. Another example is this - our exams are often conducted on paper - I would like to be able to scan on behalf of students and upload their work so as to be able to mark onscreen. This would negate me needing to scan samples after the fact and save them somewhere else. I would like everything to be in one place. Given that people have been asking for this feature since 2015 is there any chance of an update to let us know if this is something that possible or being worked on?

jfm5245
Community Member

"adding my support to this" - how long could this take?  6 years?  Canvas, come on.

p_bier
Community Novice

Being able to submit on behalf of a student would reduce instructor workload, as it is quite common for students who have had technical difficulties with their submissions to email something through.