[Modules] Task "Check Off" in Modules

I have had several students request that they have the ability to "check off" and "flag" certain items within a modules.  They would like to be able to "check off" when something is completed and flag things to come back to, similar to an email inbox.  

43 Comments
h0413642
Community Novice

As an extension to this it would be nice to mark calendar events as completed.

don_bryn
Community Champion

I've been trying to figure out a way to have a checklist for students and this would be exactly what I am looking for.  We need incoming students to complete a checklist (fill out financial aid forms, see an advisor, audition for ensemble, take a placement test, etc. ), and it would be so easy to create the list in Canvas using assignments if only the students could see a checklist to see which ones have been completed!   Please let me know if this becomes possible.

kem5878
Community Novice

I agree! I am a student and have suggested this feature here: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/10566-calendar-manually-cross-out-assignment-mark-as-completed . Smiley Happy

rbarnes5
Community Novice

As a student, this is exactly what we need. Some teachers publish a module that has a lot of content; and as a working professional, I have to log back in multiple times to get a module completed. Every time I log back in I have to reorient myself and click on items to determine what I have completed. I track it on my own through paper but I think this would be such a simple feature to add. All I need is the option to check off an item. 

I also think this would a good feature for the student to enable without having the teacher activate the feature when they publish the modules. I only say this because not all teachers would use the feature and the feature is more for the student to keep organized...it's not really for the teachers. 

But I greatly appreciate the teachers that are trying to implement this feature. 

slh73