Teacher Pedagogy Notes

(8)

I'm busy writing curriculum for next year and am wanting to leave myself pedagogy notes (that kids can't see) about assignments directly within that assignment so I won't forget when it's time to publish it.  This seems to be an issue that was overlooked for no clear reason.

11 Comments
Steven_S
Community Champion

This would also be a helpful way to communicate expectations to adjunct expectations to adjunct instructors that are given responsibility for teaching a section of a course created by someone else.

bwarner1
Community Explorer

As a teacher, I'd love to see a backend only field for Teacher's Reflections where we can leave notes to ourselves about individual assignments, pages, etc. This would just be a blank field that teachers could use as reminders when they copy assignments from one semester to the next. 

Potential uses:

• Remind ourselves of names of attached documents to external tools (Google Course Kit Assignments, for example, never copy over, so we have to go back and find the link in the old semester's assignment)
  • Give ourselves suggestions for how to improve the assignment next semester.
  • Put in a link to a relevant resource that could be used next time around.
  • Save text/directions that we aren't using this time, but will be useful to keep available for the future.
  • Etc, etc.

It's pretty common for teachers to record reflections on their lesson plans, but it makes more sense to have that kind of reflection available on any given page/assignment so that we can tie it directly to the work at hand when each subsequent semester rolls around.

cmgardner
Community Participant

I could see this being a great feature for sub plans as well and also super helpful when sharing content among colleagues.  Think it could have even more impact than just the initial idea behind this feature request. 

bwarner1
Community Explorer