Time and Date Stamp for Anonymous Assignment Submissions

0 Likes
(1)

Hello.  I am an administrative assistant with instructor rights in Canvas to help the professors I assist.  The professors need to be able to have students submit an anonymous assignment in Canvas but also be able to see the exact date/time stamp for each student before they are done grading papers. 

Currently, I am told that there is no way to do this.  The only way to see a date/time stamp for each anonymous assignment is to post grades or unhide the students names.  This is not as helpful for the professors as they are trying to figure out how many points to deduct from a late paper submission.  Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

10 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Moderating

@eat7 

Thanks for sharing this suggestion. Here are the steps I took to attempt to replicate it (as you'll see, I could not):

• Instructor: Create and publish a new assignment
  • Instructor: In Speedgrader, enable the option to Hide student names
  • Student: Submit the assignment 
  • Instructor: View the submission date and time at the upper right of Speedgrader (screenshot)

anonymous submission.png

Could you elaborate on the additional functionality you're seeking?

eat7
Community Member

Stefanie:

Thank you for your reply.  I cannot see the date and time that an anonymous student submitted an assignment.  Is this something only an administrator can see?  Right now, instructors can only see a date/time stamp if they post grades and unhide names.  I will try to submit a screen shot of mine if I can. Thank you.

--Elissa

eat7
Community Member

Screenshot of assignment submission.png

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

@eat7 

Thanks for providing the screenshot. The date and time stamp are visible to teachers; no admin privileges are required.