Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
kedgecomb
Community Champion

I agree that this process should be simplified.  Students are confused by this, as well as instructors. 

KristinL
Community Team
Community Team

I teach at a school with a 1:1 iPad program, and in my art classes, I rely on students sharing images of their work. Once we figured out the multi-step process, it worked well-enough -- the browser version was more reliable than the mobile version. An easier process would be well used and much appreciated!

arovner
Community Contributor

I agree!  Please make this easier for students!  Many of my faculty ask students to include photos, diagrams, etc. in their Discussion posts without realizing that it's convoluted process for the students.  The reason we are all here is to remove barriers to success from the lms so students can focus on the content and learn!

Thanks!

Amy

peytoncraighill
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Thanks for the feedback, everybody!