Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

@jlvaughn , I have long been a proponent of simplifying the process for students to insert images into discussion posts.. However, you should know that your screenshot shows how one can insert images into posts in this Canvas Community interface, which is powered by Jive: it is not "Canvas...doing it."

jlvaughn
Community Novice

Good to know. I do appreciate it as a simple and elegant method of embedding, so perhaps it is useful as a sample.

michellemeazell
Community Contributor

So where are we on this whole topic?  I'm having to provide instructions to people and I'm shaking my head at how hard this is for students.

mribkoff
Community Novice

"Still, rather than taking a few minutes to make it happen, it might take a few days to make it happen"