Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
johnmartin
Community Champion

@james_wallerste ,  @steve_simpson , and  @scottdennis ,

I'm told by one of our more innovative early adopters, mortonanngernsbacher, that students get the same image upload options that instructors do if students are in a group space. So, (maybe?) if you make one "group assignment" with all the students in the same group, this will work?

Yes, it's a ridiculous workaround for a seemingly-simple feature. 

sknaub2695
Community Novice

I am using Canvas for the first time this semester and find the inability to embed an image from my computer directly into a discussion very challenging. I use Blackboard for another class and it allows me to choose an image on my computer to embed in a discussion without having to upload the file first. From what I've seen of Canvas, it is much more user-friendly than Blackboard...except for the lack of this feature.

Mind Blown

laurakgibbs
Community Champion