Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
laurakgibbs
Community Champion

P.S. Redirect Tool also works great, esp. if you do not need the iframe to provide additional context, etc. Although Redirect Tool will also require https to display sites, including blog sites, inside Canvas.  @keeganlong-whee ‌ has this nice redirect tool resource:

How To Integrate Websites Into Canvas – Keegan Long-Wheeler 

npacheco
Community Novice

I am excited for this to happen! Hope to see it soon. 

AJC17246
Community Explorer

I found this suggestion while checking for a request to directly upload images to an Essay answer in a quiz. So I'd like to propose this this ability carry over to all RCE boxes that students use, so that any place they can embed an image it's easier to do so.

Alistair

stale_heggset
Community Novice

We need this now, Canvas!

sheldonj1
Community Contributor