Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
Jeff_F
Community Champion

That's funny you say 'rocket science' as we teach the subject.    By the way, have you seen any of the rocket launches with the boosters that actually land so they can be reused?    That sure is out of the box thinking.

fvansaun
Community Participant

I agree completely, there are a handful of issues I have with Canvas that can be taken care of through expensive third party integrations, that really seem to be functions that just should be in the Canvas package. The embedding of images in discussion posts and the ability to record the screen and voice in Speedgrader (why my students would want  to be looking at me while I described what went wrong in their paper is beyond me), are my top two. Neither of them is "new technology", why is it taking so long?