Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
laurakgibbs
Community Champion

Totally agree! With vendors, alt-text might be the best we can hope for... and in the end, it is really going to be up to educators to do the heavy lifting. But it is worth it! And everybody benefits. 🙂

kmobbs
Community Novice

I was fairly shocked that images couldn't be loaded directly in the editor window.

stale_heggset
Community Novice

Spot on!

Ståle

Canvas Community <https://community.canvaslms.com/?et=watches.email.idea_comment>

Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

new comment by Kevin Mobbs<https://community.canvaslms.com/people/kmobbs@jsu.edu> View all comments on this idea<https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/1053-upload-an-image-directly-to-a-discussion-as-a-student?commentID=116980#comment-116980>

sheldonj1
Community Contributor

hmmmmm

jamejustsayin'

abock
Community Novice

I agree with this petition

Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team