Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

@momillard , khirschmann,  @fvansaun ,  @amassals  

Thank you so much for your feedback and perspectives.  Given the totality of the information we have on this feature we are going to mark it as complete.  The current functionality is in mobile (Student & Teacher) at this time and we continue to work on it in web.  I do not have an ETA for web yet, but we will update this thread when we have more information.  

fvansaun
Community Participant

I am afraid that Canvas has confused two issues. This feature request was made in hopes of solving a very frustrating issue that students have when embedding images while using a desktop or laptop. Not a phone. We are a design school and probably 80% of the images students share are generated by them digitally on their PCs.