Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
millerjm
Community Champion

My husband is taking  courses and last week asked me how he could embed an image in a discussion post from an image on his computer for an assignment.  I had to walk him through the painful process.  I had to show him again last night how to do it because he forgot. 

He wonders how Canvas doesn't know how bad it is and why I haven't suggested that they make improvements.  I showed him this feature idea.  He says he doesn't understand why it hasn't been fixed.  And says he has already forgotten how to embed it and I'll have to walk him through it next time.  

@Renee_Carney ‌:  Is there any update on how development is going to make this accessible so that it can be released?  Thank you!

laurakgibbs
Community Champion

@millerjm  For what it's worth, I think imgur is the easiest way to do it. That's what I do anyway.

Go to imgur.com, upload image.

Right-mouse click on uploaded image to open in new tab.