Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
laurakgibbs
Community Champion

I have no patience to wait on Canvas solutions. Luckily, there are LOTS of alternatives to a discussion board as a space where students interact and share . I've used blogs for that for over 10 years. Since 2011, the blog options have gotten better and better. I'm not prepared to wait on Canvas if my students want/need something better than the available Canvas tool. I hope your photography instructor has found a good solution to use; that would be an awfully long time to wait...

tbrooks
Community Member

Ha--yes, she has. She has used several different tools and she and her

students are fine.

laurakgibbs
Community Champion

Excellent! That's been my approach too: when in doubt, DIY! 🙂

rlbrown21
Community Participant