View all assignments that rubrics have been assigned to

(7)

It would be great to be able to see which assignments rubrics have been attached to. As an instructional designer, I work on a hundred courses, not all of which were built by me, and it would help greatly to know which assignments to edit when the SME sends in an updated rubric.

Scenario

Imagine you need to update a rubric in a course that you didn't develop or build. You find the rubric in Outcomes but it isn't clear which assignments it was applied to. So you click open all the assignments and discussions to see if that rubric was applied. Once you find the one or x number of assignments, you delete all but one rubric (so that the name of the rubric doesn't become "name of rubric (1)"), make edits to the last remaining rubric, and then attach the updated rubric to all the assignments. 

If there was a way to see the alignment of assignments and rubrics, it would free up time for making the edit earlier.

8 Comments
ethomas48
Community Participant

To be clear, we need this visibility from both the Rubric view and the Assignments view.

For Assignments, an icon should appear next to any assignment item listed on the Assignments page that indicates if there is a rubric attached to that Assignment (or not). This should apply to discussions, TurnItIn assignments as well as standard Canvas assignments. Reasons:

1) To confirm that I have attached a rubric to a discussion, I have to click into each discussion. I recently "cleaned up" a rubric I use for almost all discussions in multiple courses. In the process, the rubric was removed from some of the Discussions but not from all. I had to look at each one to confirm that the correct rubric was attached (click discussion, click view rubric times 16).