Word Count

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Can we get a word count tool for our courses?

Well, I don't know about a word count minimum requirement.  I was just thinking put something in like the corner of the text box or in the toolbar where it shows how many words have been written.  Yeah, I've had assignments where I had to have a 300 word minimum, and would have to copy and paste it into Word to figure out if I had enough.  I think this is an easy script to make, but I don't want to assume anything since I have very little programming experience or ability.

Comments from Instructure

For more information, please read through the https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-14438-canvas-production-release-notes-2018-04-21 .

133 Comments
joshuag
Community Novice

I know this feature has been in development for some time, but I’m not sure why. As far as I can tell, Canvas is using TinyMCE 4 as its content editor for text submissions. It appears that TinyMCE 4 already has a word count plugin, which seems to provide the exact functionality OP is asking for. This doesn't solve the problem in SpeedGrader, of course, but in terms of student submissions, this should provide exactly what we're looking for. And if I'm not mistaken, we're talking about literally one line added to the TinyMCE initialization call to enable it. (I haven't gone through the trouble of trying to deobfuscate the Canvas app to find where that call is happening and test it out, but we'll see how bored I get later on.)

Just wanted to make sure that y'all weren't trying to reinvent the wheel. Smiley Happy

scottdennis
Instructure
Instructure

Hey Joshua,