Word Count

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Can we get a word count tool for our courses?

Well, I don't know about a word count minimum requirement.  I was just thinking put something in like the corner of the text box or in the toolbar where it shows how many words have been written.  Yeah, I've had assignments where I had to have a 300 word minimum, and would have to copy and paste it into Word to figure out if I had enough.  I think this is an easy script to make, but I don't want to assume anything since I have very little programming experience or ability.

Comments from Instructure

For more information, please read through the https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-14438-canvas-production-release-notes-2018-04-21 .

133 Comments
kerry_gonzales
Community Novice

Can anyone help me? I get that this new version won't have word counts until fall. But I can't seem to be able to even copy paste an uploaded essay into one Word Doc file to check. "Help" is telling me to download all 75 essays!!! That would put them all on my desktop which I would have to delete after checking for word counts.

Am I missing something? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

@kerry_gonzales ‌, you can download a single submission through SpeedGrader. Check out How do I use SpeedGrader? Scroll down to the first screenshot, and you'll see a little cloud icon with a downward-facing arrow next to the file name (under Submitted Files). That's what you would use to download the document. Does that help?

kerry_gonzales
Community Novice

Hi Stephanie,

Yes, I can download, but that's not the problem. Downloading a file still puts it on my desktop. Which is an additional window to open. If I change this in my Preferences, then I will be changing those several times a day since I'm in and out of several programs.