Word Count

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Can we get a word count tool for our courses?

Well, I don't know about a word count minimum requirement.  I was just thinking put something in like the corner of the text box or in the toolbar where it shows how many words have been written.  Yeah, I've had assignments where I had to have a 300 word minimum, and would have to copy and paste it into Word to figure out if I had enough.  I think this is an easy script to make, but I don't want to assume anything since I have very little programming experience or ability.

Comments from Instructure

For more information, please read through the https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-14438-canvas-production-release-notes-2018-04-21 .

133 Comments
scottdennis
Instructure
Instructure

Not at this time, Tim, sorry.

burrasto
Community Participant

Word count features in discussions would be very helpful for us in two ways.  First, we would like to be able to set a maximum word count for posts in some discussions.  It would also be very helpful to have discussion word counts analytics for research and course evaluation purposes.  Discussion board conversation is important for our courses and having access to this kind of data would be helpful for us in determining which of our practices are more effective in eliciting quality conversation.

Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

ajacoby‌ &  @jthoms ‌

Thank you for the ping on this one. I have had it on my list to update, but I was hoping for more detail before I updated it.  This project actually turned out to be more difficult than originally thought.  It also got set aside because more foundational projects that impacted it needed to be completed first.  This has not dropped off of our radar though.  I am going to move this idea back to product radar, with more accurately represents the status.  We'll post any new updates when they are available.

erikagrafsky
Community Novice