Word Count

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Can we get a word count tool for our courses?

Well, I don't know about a word count minimum requirement.  I was just thinking put something in like the corner of the text box or in the toolbar where it shows how many words have been written.  Yeah, I've had assignments where I had to have a 300 word minimum, and would have to copy and paste it into Word to figure out if I had enough.  I think this is an easy script to make, but I don't want to assume anything since I have very little programming experience or ability.

Comments from Instructure

For more information, please read through the https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-14438-canvas-production-release-notes-2018-04-21 .

133 Comments
swintz
Community Novice

Agreed Joel and Mark!   I have been watching and responding to this discussion the entire time as well and find it completely frustrating that it has been "in discussion", "in development", and "open for a vote" for so long with no movement.  Word count is an essential component in any education software and I fail to understand why it has not been incorporated into the platform by now.

eggen
Community Novice

Agreed. I have discussing postings with a minimum word count. As it stands my students need to use MS Word, Google Drive, etc to write a posting to check their word count. If I'm unsure by just glancing at the length of the post when I'm grading I need to do the same. I was surprised to see this lacking in Canvas and honestly thought I just didn't know how to do it.

gibbonsd
Community Participant

For the Discussion Board with grading in mind, for starters, it would be nice to have a point deduction for not meeting the minimum word count on the initial post.  On replies to fellow classmates, not immediately concern when grading.

I was wondering on the "Initial Post" this could be done similar to "Automatically apply deduction to late submissions" done in the Gradebook.