browser error 403 when parent accesses student assignment link

0 Likes
(1)

When a parent is not logged into Canvas as an observer, and attempts to access an assignment link for their student (via an email notification they received), if they are not already logged into Canvas, they get a 403 browser error message.  Instead, can the parent be routed to a Canvas observer login page 

Tags (3)
7 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Moderating

@jdelcarlo  Thanks for sharing this feedback. Have you already reported this to the Canvas admin for your district and/or Canvas Support?

jdelcarlo
Community Explorer
Author

Yes.  I am a Canvas admin for our district and I opened a ticket w/ Canvas support.  Below is the canvas support ticket and their response.

Thank you for your recent Canvas Case - 08157079.

Hello Jessica! 

Thank you for Contacting Canvas Support!

Here is a link to our idea conversations. If he would like to he can put his response there.

Please let us know if you have any additional questions.  We are available 24 hours a day, 365 days per year. Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Trevian Brown
L1 Support Engineer
support@instructure.com

Hello Jessica! 

Thank you for Contacting Canvas Support!

I understand a parent is having issues opening assignment links from his email notifications. If the parent is opening the emails let's say on his phone and he does not have the Parent app. It'll try to open the link in a browser and what you said is correct. If he tries to open the link somewhere he's not signed into canvas it will give him an error. Try having him sign into Canvas on a computer and opening the link. 

Please let us know if you have any additional questions.  We are available 24 hours a day, 365 days per year. Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Trevian Brown
L1 Support Engineer
support@instructure.com