[Inbox] Schedule a message in inbox

As an instructor, it would be really great if I could write a message to my students in inbox, and schedule it to send at a later time. I love this feature in gmail, and would like to see it here as well. 

35 Comments
cchavarria917
Community Member

I see that this idea was first introduced on September 2020. It is now December 2021 and there are a few responses.

As someone who teaches several classes (online/hybrid/F2F), I need to be able to schedule email messages for different classes to go out at different times.

Could this feature be something that cam be add to Canvas Inbox, please? Without it, I have to wait until certain times of the day to send emails to the entire class.

Thank you,
CMC

luisjopia
Community Member

As a student, I would love this feature too. If ever we wanted to send a message to our instructors during weekends, we can pick a later date (possibly on weekdays) for us to send our message and not forget it. Thank you and I hope this feature would be developed and included very soon!

ALBERTOLINA
Community Novice

A few times teachers work outside business hours.

For the purposes the student cant receive the mail in a suitable hour,

it becames neccesary to programme date and hour of the mail.

Regards

ALBERTOLINA
Community Novice

A few times teachers work outside business hours.

For the purposes the student cant receive the mail in a suitable hour,

it becomes neccesary to programme date and hour of the mail.

Regards

JonathanLeeSFSU
Community Member

I agree. I'm surprised that nothing has been done since your initial post. It is Aug 2022 and there is still no "send later" function in the Indox. This is very useful to instructors. 

Announcements have a "send later" and that is not the solution to this issue. Announcements do not automatically go to email inboxes, and this is a problem. Announcements also do not have a "resend" in case it is something we wish to remind our students off.