cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Surveyor

Designing for deeper learning

Hi everyone!

This is my first posting here.  As a new instructional designer, I really appreciate all of your feedback on this discussion group - thanks!

I'd like to get some input from all of you on how you help instructors to push forward to deeper learning levels with their students.  Designing to enhance critical and creative thinking requires a lot of...critical and creative thinking! Smiley Happy 

One of the struggles I am facing is helping the faculty be okay with ambiguity and not having the "right" answer.

What are some methods that you use to help faculty move to this level, beyond the multiple choice quiz and standard prompt essay? What are some activities that you have found effective? Are there any Canvas tools that you find helps?

Thanks!

Laura

3 Replies

The Growth Mindset CanvasLIVE presentation was excellent - I highly recommend it for getting students to dig deeper.

Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi lwidenor@k-state.edu 

One of the very simple things that I do in Canvas is make heavy use of Discussions. I use them to meet application, and other higher level outcomes and as a form of assessment, as well as for community participation and peer teaching.