Prevent cheating on canvas exams

Jump to solution
rms7436
Community Member

Hi all, I am a university instructor and have some questions concerning students possibly cheating on Canvas exams. I've recently heard it is possible to find the correct multiple choice answer by using the 'Inspect Element' tool and reading through the coding. 

1. Are you actually able to decipher which answers are correct/incorrect by using Inspect Element. If so, how? 

2. I know that if a student were to open a new tab, Canvas would show that the student navigated away from the exam page. Would the Inspect Element flag this for the same reason? Or would it not be considered a new tab? 

3. I have also heard of the "15 second rule" about navigating away from the exam page. What does this mean? Does it exist? I was under the impression that Canvas alerts as soon as a student clicks onto a new tab, or does it only flag for it if it has been over 15 seconds? 

Thank you for any input

8 Solutions
gcollins1
Community Participant

A related thought just occurred to me: What if they use an incognito tab?

Realistically, anyone with a second device can look things up during a Canvas exam and not interrupt their Canvas viewing.

I know some of our professors are "proctoring" their Canvas exams, using Zoom, and requiring their students to keep cameras on; so the instructors can see eye movement and if they pick up a smartphone, tablet or laptop...

View solution in original post

0 Likes
sjones11
Community Contributor

I didn't see a way to see the answers via the Inspect Element view.  

You are correct. With a second device it is easy to look things up even with something like LockDown Browser.  The only solution would be some kind of proctoring software or as your colleagues do, watch them (which I think is creepy).   

Sorry I don't have any input on your other questions but I'd like to find out myself! 

0 Likes
trycanvas
Community Member