cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mje
Community Participant

Update an existing file - an easy way?

Jump to solution

I'm new to Canvas, but it seems there is no way to update an existing file in a course. Is my finding correct?

That means that if I have included the existing file in a page and maybe other places in a course, I'll have to "delete the old file", "upload the new version of the file", and "manually re-insert the links to the file" ... easy of use? ... I do not think so.

Kind regards,

Michael

Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
clong
Community Champion

@michael3 ​ - as you noted as long as you don't change the name of the file then you can just upload it in your files and Canvas will ask you if you want to replace the file or rename it.

185791_pastedImage_0.png

If you have the file in multiple courses then using a Google Doc as  @hochmucr ​ suggested is a great way to manage things. You could also serve up the file from a Dropbox account or something like that.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
mje
Community Participant

It seems it actually keeps the references e.g. in pages - as long as the file keeps the original name. However, what if user wants to give files version numbers (could be usefull in many situations) - then it's not possible to update without manually changing references.

hochmucr
Community Participant

Embedding of a google doc takes care of this problem. When the google doc is updated, all places in Canvas where the document is embedded will also be updated at the same time.

clong
Community Champion

@michael3 ​ - as you noted as long as you don't change the name of the file then you can just upload it in your files and Canvas will ask you if you want to replace the file or rename it.

185791_pastedImage_0.png