Collaborations – Changed my world!

Bobby2
Community Champion

I’ve been getting my head around how to use Canvas lately and thoroughly enjoying how intuitive it is and how crisp it looks. So, there I was feeling jolly pleased with mastering Pages and Modules, experimenting with Assignments, using Discussions and Announcements.

Somehow through all of this new learning I had managed to overlook the magic of Collaborations. Silly me! The joy I felt with creating my first shared Word doc through Canvas was huge. Thank you  @alannah_roach  for showing me! The potential of Collaborations is massive for all learners involved. I can’t wait to use it more, and I can’t wait to show more of my colleagues.

@How do I create a Microsoft Office 365 collaboration as an instructor?  

As a Canvas newbie I could be missing a lot of the potential uses of Collaborations. How are others using Collaborations within their Canvas courses? I’m interested to hear how Collaborations are used in different areas of school organisations eg. Administration, Staff Professional Development, K-6 classes etc.

Great group to belong to here https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/office365 

259334_world.jpg

15 Comments
laurakgibbs
Community Champion

@Bobby2  There's another long-time online teacher at my school, Susan Smith Nash, who is a big fan of Collaborations; she has a video series about it that she has published as a Udemy course. Some of the videos are at YouTube:

Canvas Tutorials for Instructors - YouTube 

And here is her Udemy course, which is apparently on sale at the moment for just $10 (not a typo!)

Canvas for Collaboration | Udemy 

I haven't done the course but I've known Susan for forever, and she is GREAT. I am assuming the Udemy course is full of Susan greatness! 🙂

screenshot of udemy course