cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Studio videos accessible from public links if collection is deleted

Studio videos accessible from public links if collection is deleted

Canvas white logo

 

Known issues indicate notable behaviors that has been escalated to the Canvas engineering team. Known issues are not a guarantee for an immediate resolution. This document is for informational purposes only and does not replace the Support process. If you are encountering the behavior outlined in this document, please ensure you have submitted a Support case (per your institution's escalation process) so Canvas Support can adequately gauge the overall customer impact and prioritize appropriately.
Description


When a Studio video is added to a Collection, and the user shares the video link with another teacher via the public share link, or adds it to a public place in their course (such as a Page), if they then delete the collection, the public share link still gives access to view the video.

Expected Behavior


Instead it should no longer be able to be viewed via the link, if the collection that houses the video has been deleted.

Workaround


No workaround exists at this time.

Steps to Reproduce

 

  1. Have a Teacher create a Studio Collection, then add a video into this Collection

  2. Have the Teacher get the public share link and embed code to the video

  3. Create a Page in one of their courses that includes both the public link and the embed code

  4. As the Teacher, delete the Collection from Studio, notice it states all content within the collection will also be deleted

  5. Go to the Page where the share link was added and notice it still plays the video

 

Additional Info


ARC-7709

Labels (2)