cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sara_chai
Community Member

Accessing all student grades...

Jump to solution

Is there an easy way (like there is for the student when they log in on the right hand side) for an admin to access grades in all subjects (6 classes)?  Our counselor wants percentages and an easy way to print them.  I realize that you can go into each class, but they want an easier - all classes approach.

47 Replies

jason.castaldo​,

@codom ​ solution is based on running on a single page, so it can't be used to generate the report for all students in a course.  That would require API calls and then formatting the pages yourself or setting up some kind of system that obtained a list of IDs for the students in a class and then called the pages one-by-one. I've used CasperJS in the past to obtain information behind a different LMS system that didn't have a publicly available API. It wasn't particularly easy because I'm not a JavaScript programmer (although I've been teaching myself a lot as I write tools for people in the Community), but it did have the ability to save to a PDF. Then you could gather up all the PDFs and print them if you wanted to.

Here is another option for those who aren't necessarily programmers, but can do a little with Microsoft Excel and can obtain list of Canvas User IDs for the students who you want to see the grades for.

Create an Excel Spreadsheet that looks like this:

2015-09-20_23-57-58.png

The function in C2 is ="https://richland.instructure.com/users/"&B2&"/grades"

Obviously, you would want to replace the richland.instructure.com with your instance.