cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Member

Adding a left sidebar link

Jump to solution

Can I add links, such as a Library link, to the left sidebar? (the blue colored bar with Account, Dashboard, Courses, inbox, etc.? When there is a long list of discussion board posts, I find I have to scroll to the top of the page to get to a library link.  It would be nice to have an easy access link to the library no matter where you are on a page. 

Thanks

Terri

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Thank you for all the replies from Canvas.  I am not a teacher or admin, I am a student. I thought it would be useful to have the flexibility to add additional links to the side bar that is visible at all times. Blackboard allowed that and I guess I got used to it. I find myself scrolling a lot through discussion board (and other) pages or navigating laboriously between various parts of the modules. It can be a bit tedious. You may wish to consider allowing students to add always visible shortcut links as an option for future Canvas users. It would make the interface a bit more user friendly. Just my opinion! 

Thanks again for your help, 
Terri

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi sa200075@atsu.edu , and  Welcome  to the Canvas Community!

I know that is can be done, but I do not know how it is done. So I will share your question with the Canvas Developers‌ group where that expertise lives.

I hope someone has a good answer for you.

Kelley

Highlighted
Explorer

Hi sa200075@atsu.edu