Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach

Advanced Table Style Examples?

Hi everyone, 

I am looking for examples of what can be placed into the "style" box of advanced table properties.  I have had no trouble using border/background color but the style box is another story.  At How do I insert a table using the Rich Content Editor?‌, the instructions state, "Style: The style of your table. You can add custom CSS styling to your table such as colors, borders, spacing, and alignment."  

I am not a CSS expert, and haven't found any examples online of text that can be pasted into this box in Canvas and change the appearance of the table.  Does anyone have any samples they can share of tables and the related CSS styling code?

Thanks in advance!

8 Replies
chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi ericwerth...

I'm not much of a CSS expert, so I chatted with someone from Instrucuture's Help Desk to see if they could help me out.  The "Style" box in the "Advanced" tab of "Table Properties" allows you to put in some CSS to alter the look of the table.  For example, I tried this in my own sandbox course:

Table Properties

As you can see, this puts a solid black border around the table with a width of 7 pixels.

I'm sure there are other things that people may suggest here that you could do to alter the look of the table, so I am going to convert your Question into a Discussion...since there doesn't seem to be one "Correct" answer.  I hope that's alright with you.