Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jbond
Community Member

Assignment Page Default for Student View

Jump to solution

Hi:

Is there a way to make the Assignment page default to the Type view (rather than the Date view) in Student View?

Jill

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

@jbond ‌, I teach math (part time) and work with faculty and students using Canvas (full time) and in general I don't think most of my faculty actually understand the math behind weighted grades. Why do I say this? Because they often send their students to me to explain their grades. As for the students, in general students do not understand weighted grades. Heck, math in general is a sticking point for many students. That's why I normally recommend a straight points based gradebook. Students understand it easier and can calculate it themselves. Yet, as an Instructor I like the weighted gradebook because then I feel like I don't have to worry about the number of points or if I want to add an assignment here or there. 

All this being said, there is no way on the front end of Canvas to make it default to type over date. It could probably done on the back-end programmatically, but I leave that to the https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/canvas-developers?sr=search&searchId=ae09f1ee-548a-4f38-adef-...‌ group in the Community. 

So, what can you do? Here are some ideas:

* Provide a sheet (word doc or page) explaining (math and words) how weighting assignments works in the course. 

* Create a video showing students how the different assignments factor into their grade and how to switch to type from date on the Assignemnt page. 

* Provide students with information on how to use "what-if" grades in the gradebook - this could also be a video - and demonstrate how one assignment counts more than other assignments.